Q-Some Big Band – dreamin’





Dreamin’ is the debut album of Q-Some Big Band and contains one hour of home-grown music: 10 sparkling new compositions by the Q-Some Composer Hub. There is great variation and at the same time a clear common line: there are no more boxes. These are musical painters swimming through many waters, skilfully playing and writing, with brush, painting knife and everything else they can get their hands on.

Artistic direction: Manten Van Gils, Lode Mertens
Compositions: Gabriele di Franco (5), Pierre-Antoine Savoyat (9), Manten Van Gils (2-3-4-6-7-8-10-11), Robbe Willems (1)

1 – Prototype
2 – Square Planet
3 – Raw – part I
4 – Raw – part II
5 – Blues for F
6 – Playful
7 – A Girl named Eddie
8 – Flugled
9 – For Klaus
10 – Powerful People
11 – Soft Viking

Saxes: Dieter Vaganée, Arthur Hirtz, Marjan Van Rompay, Tobias Volckaert, Tom Cautaerts
Trombones: Manten Van Gils, Kristof Decoster, Roel Vanacker, Els Verbruggen
Trumpets: Ruben Vanacker, Jany Van Lul, Thadeus Jolie, Marthe Van Droogenbroeck, Pierre-Antoine Savoyat
Rythm section: Gabriele di Franco, Robbe Willems, Wim Ramon, Brecht Adriaenssens

Recording engineer: Koen Herman
Mixing: Koen Heirman, Manten Van Gils
Mastering: Frederik Dejongh
Catering & love: Eva Meyer
Recorded @ DAFT, mixed @ Record Office, mastered @ Jerboa Mastering